Never have I ever fallen so in love that it almost hurts. Not because of anything negative but because I’ve never been so afraid to lose someone. All these years I spent in abusive, manipulative and just all around terrible relationships to fill some kind of void of something that was missing, and here you were all along, waiting patiently for me to arrive. Who’d have thought I’d have to move almost three thousand miles away to meet you and fall in love with you? I never thought it would ever happen that way.

At first I was reluctant. I was unsure of your intentions and frankly, worried myself into self-induced depression about it. I wanted you to love me the way I loved you. The way I still love you. I spent countless nights crying over you, but it was nothing you had done. You never gave me a reason to cry or worry. I cried and worried all on my own because, well, I was scared to lose you. After all of the terrible things I encountered in my last relationship, I met you and knew deep down you were the one for me. A big part of me knew. It never made itself super obvious but I knew it was there. I had to do everything I could to keep you by my side, and here you are, almost a year later. You are the love of my life and my entire world.

I love being able to glance over at you when we’re both on our computers and have you smile back at me. I love being in the same room as you but not ever having to talk, and just knowing how the other one is feeling. I love thinking and saying the exact same thing at the exact same time as you. I love falling asleep in your arms and waking up next to you. I never thought I’d ever experience this feeling, but I’m sure as hell glad I get to now.

You’re my other half in many ways, especially when it comes to the things we like, like music, movies, books, art, animals, etc. It’s so awesome to have someone just like me, but it’s also an amazing feeling knowing that we’re so different as well. You bring out the absolute best in me and I can’t thank you enough for that. Stay awesome, my dear.

Leave a comment